District Safety and Security Committee

    • Texas Education Code (TEC) 37.109 mandates that each school district in Texas establish a Safety and Security Committee in accordance with the guidelines established by the Texas School Safety Center. Committee membership includes district and campus administrators, department directors, Board of Trustee members, local emergency management officials, law enforcement, fire, emergency medical services, and other community stakeholders. 

      The Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) and the Texas School Safety Center at Texas State University (TSSC) have collaborated to create guidelines that help Texas school districts in creating and managing SSSC's. You can click on their names to view the guidelines and frequently asked questions:

  • Safety and Security Committee Meeting Dates and Agendas

    October 17, 2022